Uncategorized

(Essay 1) Con-Text: Personal/Cultural/Cosmic Stories by Glenys Livingstone Ph.D.

Return to MAGO E*Magazine

This essay is a version of an excerpt from Chapter 2 of her book PaGaian Cosmology: Re-inventing Earth-based Goddess Religion.

My personal context, which cannot be separated from the cultural and cosmic context of my organism, and that fires my passion, is that I write as “a daughter born into the patriarchy”. I know fairly well “my” story through these past few millennia. From my journal a couple of decades ago:

They said I destroyed the world with my sin – it was my fault. My wickedness was to blame – and Jesus, a man, had to suffer a terrible death to make it right. I, a woman, and all the other women like me, carried the burden for everything that was not right with the world.And I believed them. I did not disagree. At the trials, when they accused me, said what I did was evil – I…

View original post 1,613 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

